More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern life style which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?

It is thought that traditional medicine should be preferred over modern medicine. This essay disagrees with the fact, as modern medicine is a tried and tested practice. Additionally, it follows a standard developed over time, unlike traditional medicine. Firstly, modern medication is supported by research and studies on the human body done by thousands of doctors over time. Furthermore, it is validated by experiments, tests and trials. For instance, the vaccine for coronavirus has gone through multiple trials before it was distributing to the general population. On the other hand, cultural practice depends on beliefs and is often not fully explicable. However, certain traditional therapies might be useful for lifestyle-related problems like high blood pressure, diabetes etc. but in order to confirm the results, these therapies should be studied and included in modern practice and tested like any other treatment. Secondly, a modern cure is governed by a standard developed over time by the medical community around the world in contrast to a traditional cure which is determined by the indigenous cultures which are different at different places. It describes the methods to treat any illness. These methods are contributed and tested by doctors around the world. It is further strengthened by the laws every practitioner should follow to ensure minimum failures during a treatment process. Therefore, every procedure is carefully orchestrated to ensure maximum success. In conclusion, modern medicine combines the efforts made by doctors while traditional medicine is only limited to local cultures. Therefore, modern medicine should always be preferred over traditional medicine.