The maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that the modern advancements in E-learning have taken leaps and bounds. It is often argued by some that spending funds on maintaining the public libraries would be a waste as all the information is available on the internet these days. However, I partially agree with this given notion because libraries still hold a valuable position in our society. Apparently, accessing e-books online holds a wide range of constructive benefits. To begin with, the recent technological improvements in gadgets and easy accessibility to the web has made a person easy access to millions of books online. In other words, anyone can access online material of sources anytime, anywhere around the globe without being into the hassle of visiting the library to acquire knowledge. Secondly, authors and,writers these days prefer to publish their novels and literature on big platforms such as amazon kindle and Flipkart rather than making it available to community libraries. To illustrate, the newly launched Chetan bhagat novel on romance was being made available on e-sources, the day it was launched, however, it took further 15 days to be on the shelves for the public. On the other hand, some opine that having a library still upholds its position in society and they have myriads of reason. Chiefly, the internet still cannot be accessed by millions of people hence, they prefer the library as its chief resource for gaining immersive knowledge. Moreover, some young people and elderly prefer to sit in a quiet place and read, which a library can provide. To exemplify, it has been observed in the universities that most of the students prefer to sit and study in college libraries as they find the environment pleasing, while the availability of resources around them keeps their concentration consistent. To conclude, we should welcome the changes being made in the process of learning through the net which makes it easy to access any piece of information anytime we want. However, conventional libraries are still appreciated by millions who cannot afford the internet and those who prefer silent places to study.