Topic 10: In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In industrialized nations, people have a tendency to live longer than in the past, which can trigger several adverse effects on both individuals and the community. In this essay, I am going to list the main impacts of this trend and some viable solutions are proposed to alleviate these problems. Admittedly, there are some evident influences for both people and the society when the lifetime of old people is extending. First, on an individual level, a burden on offspring in terms of money and time can be obviously seen. This is because medical care expenditure for the elderly is prohibitively expensive, which is much higher than their pension to afford, putting a strain on offspring, especially those struggle to make ends meet in lives, given the fact that old people are out conditions and get diseases on a regular basis. Besides, living with the old requires a colossal amount of time to be devoted to taking after and watching them with a view to deterring from dangerous situations, such as they are not independent to do personal hygiene or they easily fall into insolation or depression if they are alone. Secondly, on a societal level, the ageing population hinders the development of a nation. Granted, a country cannot thrive with a large number of the old generation whom governments have to allot national spending to taking care of them, for example accommodating charity housing for homeless old people and provide food for them. Because of this, the elderly act as a barrier to developing a country. However, to eliminate the impacts of the ageing population, some feasible are suggested with the aim of addressing these aforementioned problems. To commence with, raising public awareness of self-independence and self-catering when they grow older is of the essence. It means that there is a need for people to have savings when they are young to prepare and make use of their savings in later life, avoiding becoming a financial burden for their offspring. In addition, nursing houses are an optimal choice and wise solution for people when they are retired. Indeed, this accommodation can ensure health conditions and spiritual life for old people without a lot of care from beloved people and contribute to the development of the society in creating employment opportunities in these places. Finally, it is an intelligent action for governments to increase the retirement age for adults since people are completely healthy and robust to continue a productive working life. In conclusion, the increasing lifespan of humans engenders adamant troubles for both individuals and the society and these problems need to be solved by building more nursing houses, lengthening the retirement age and raising awareness among people about being independent and self-reliant.