Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Traditionally, high school seniors will embark on higher education or attend vocational training courses after graduation. However, there is another option that gains a lot of traction- gap year. While one school of thought argues that having a year -long break will have many counter-effects, I still subscribe to the idea that gap- year takers will have qualified time to cultivate relevant job skills. On the one hand, many people are afraid that if seniors delay tertiary education for one year, they will fall behind their peers and need much time to reintegrate with formal schooling. Moreover, chances to hone practical skills are questionable at best, while high school graduates are not well-equipped with any specialized knowledge and soft skills. As a result, it is unattainable for seniors to enrich any useful experiences. On the other hand, I believe that the aforementioned disadvantages pale in comparison with worthwhile benefits that gap- year takers can attain. Firstly, inadequate career guidance can lead to serious waste for both an individual and the whole society. For example, according to the research of the Federal Bank in New York in 2020, only 27% of bachelor’s degree holders work in the field that they graduated. Subsequently, the prestigious company is not the only destination that is conducive to a worthy experience. While taking a gap year, teenagers will enrich and hone their practical skills through ways they live independently, explore the world and immerse themselves in an alien culture. These are all valuable and necessary experiences that empower them in the future. To conclude, while taking a gap year is a controversial topic regarding its counter-effects, I still believe that it plays an important role in identifying a suitable career path for seniors and broaden their horizons.