Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the dawn of the 21st century, health care is facing significant challenges across the globe due to the coronavirus pandemic. Consequently, it is often argued by a stratum of society that nurses should be well-versed with medical knowledge and procedure. However, a certain fraction of the population believes there are some other qualities that are equally important. I opine that nurses should have both skills in order to provide better care for their patients. On the surface, nurses should occupy roles and possess other qualities such as empathy and patience, that are outside of their job description. This would greatly aid in the recovery process of their patients. For instance, according to the report published by NHS in the U.K., the recovery rate has significantly improved when the ‘Compassion in Practice’ strategy was introduced to nurses in hospitals of London. Hence, apart from strong medical knowledge, they should have these qualities that will bring overall benefit to sick people. Irrefutably, nursing is a challenging profession, which requires a wide range of knowledge in medicine and medical practices as nurses act as a communicator between doctors and patients. If they fail to understand instructions from their superiors, it might have serious consequences on patients ’ health as they are unlikely to receive necessary care. Moreover, they assist doctors in complex surgeries and monitor their patients in case of emergency during the absence of the medical-in-charge. To illustrate, the article published in DW reported that nurses in Indian villages have been at the forefront in fighting against the coronavirus pandemic. They stepped up to the challenge and filled the gap left by the lack of doctors in rural areas. Therefore, it is of utmost importance for these professionals to update their skills and expertise since they play a crucial role in the health care sector. In conclusion, people practising nursing should be capable of handling a wide range of roles along with excellent medical skills. I strongly believe that these qualities will be important for patient care.