Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies or interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some people believe that personal information asked by the employer at the time of the interview although relevant in many ways, is not to be one of the criteria to select the interviewee. I would discuss both points of view in this essay. In today’s world getting knowledge about personal preferences at the time of job application are common practice. This would help them to know the basic details of the applicant, make a little judgement about their personality, and choose the right people before a personal meeting. This also saves their time and resources. For instance, ABC company posted a vacancy in a newspaper, where they required a person who is ready to relocate and job 10 hours a day. Hence, at the point of selection, the interviewer gives preference to the people who are unmarried, because they do not share many responsibilities as compared to the married man and do their tasks with more dedication. They would easily work overtime to achieve their targets and change their location on a timely basis. Despite the fact, it is one of the main criteria of selecting the employee, few times it would be a great loss of asset to the company. For Example,in a survey conducted by the Times of India in June, 2020 it is claimed that 60 per cent of the human resource departments reject the resume of a person who does not meet their basic criteria, like marital status, hobbies, residing nearby to the company and age factor. This would lose the persons which are more capable and efficient,, however rejected due to some pointless view of selectors. In conclusion, factors like hobbies, interests, marriage are relevant and useful in many ways to the interviewer for choosing the right candidate. This would help them to choose the best person for their job work and save their resources.