International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been an international argument for the impact of a vast surge of foreigners travelling that could have an adverse effect for local villagers and the environment or it could bring more far benefits for some areas. In this essay will be outlined and outweigh its benefits and drawbacks. Nowadays, many countries, especially some developing countries, have relied on driving their economy from an influx of international travellers to developing their countries such as Thailand, Indonesia and so on. A greater number of International tourism could be beneficial for them in building facilities for civilians and some environment-friendly amenities. For instance, In Thailand, some island people get a solid salary from travelling tourists and have opportunities to have careers, particularly being a tour guide or an entrepreneur of a coastal hotel. On the other hand, the main drawbacks of being unaware of negatively consequent impacts would drastically affect broader aspects. For example, even though some inhabitants can make lots of money from an increase in tourists, it has been gradually changing the environment in the long-term due to deforestation for demolishing attractions or even the growth of garbage. Some citizens could be directly affected to their lives and communities due to rising traffic congestion and overcrowded travellers such as in the capital of the country. To conclude, however international tourism plays a crucial part in some countries’ development, many disadvantages of it that affect not only individuals but also the wide environment far outweigh the advantages.