In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is true that in some countries people tend to own a home instead of renting one. There are several reasons for this and it seems to me that the situation is largely negative. The reason why people prefer buying a house may involve the recognition that people who rent a house are constantly in fear of rent increases and eviction. By contrast, those who have owned a permanent place have the freedom to decorate a satisfactory house for themselves. They tend to feel safer because of the emotional comfort and the sense of belonging a house provides. In addition, homeownership is often regarded as a way to build wealth as house prices tend to be higher in the long term. In my perspective, it would be wrong to advocate buying a house. Buying a house often requires a huge amount of financial leverage which makes up nearly all of one’s monthly payments. In order to maintain a stable source of income, people will suffer from being overwhelmed, worry about losing their jobs and eventually lead to mental illness. Besides, if everyone pursues buying houses, the prices will go higher and higher, leading to the fact that there will be a group of people who will never be able to buy a house. Therefore, renting and buying are both viable options, and whether to buy a house should depend on one’s real financial situation and think twice. In conclusion, while the reason why people choose to buy a house is understandable, I believe everyone should think of their own situation and make the right decision.