More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Over a decade, the ways people used to stay up-to-date have dramatically changed, resulting in the rising neglect of other forms of media such as newspapers, magazines, or even books as well as news on television. From my perspective, this transformation can be considered beneficial and environmental care. In this essay, I will elaborate more on my statements and discuss both perspectives To begin with, reading online news is far more convenient and affordable. For example, as the internet these days can be approachable from the four corners of the world, it means that everyone can read articles at any time for free. Moreover, digital news is far more updated since it can be uploaded and edited on the internet after that situation happened right away, unlike the traditional ways that have to be approved first before they can be published. Apart from the convenience and the price, this shift reduces paper used in the production to produce physical forms of media as well. Nevertheless, it is also essential to acknowledge the negative aftermaths caused by consuming online media. First of all, the fact that there is a number of fake news on the internet is undeniable which can lead to misunderstandings and discordances among the society. Secondly, the more people spend their time on social media, the higher possibility they tend to have social addiction. For instance, excessively consuming digital news induces either emotional issues or health problems later. To conclude, despite the drawbacks incurred by surfing the internet to be informed, it is still a useful method to quickly access the latest information from anywhere and is more eco-friendly than traditional methods. Hence, I personally deem that this change in behaviour is favourable.