Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prisoner sentence. Others think that there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion your opinion

Some people argue that imprisoning criminals for a significantly long period is the best way to curb criminal activities in society, while others recommend resorting to other effective solutions. In my opinion, to prevent crime reforming offenders would be a more efficient way in the long run. On the one hand, putting convicts behind the bars for a long time is a viable and quick way of eliminating them from society. When hard-core crook are sent behind the bars for an extended period, a sense of fear will be inculcated among would-be culprit. Before committing any illegal activity, they will think of a miserable life in prison. This will not only deter them from committing an unlawful activity but also protect society from dangerous people and this reduces the number of criminal cases. For instance, a study reveals that giving lifelong imprisonment to a criminal disseminates a deterrent message to other convict and ceases criminal activities. Hence, sending offenders to jail for a long time is a feasible solution to stop criminal activities. On the other hand, the judicial system / judiciary should adopt alternatives to regulate evil in society. One of the most prominent steps would be giving the offender an opportunity to reform themselves. Enrolling convict in rehabilitation centres, where they would be given counselling and education and engaging them in community services can readily transform their attitude towards violation. Along with giving them a chance to reform their lives, they should be made ready to reintegrate themselves into their community, curbing the root cause of the misconduct. For example, it is observed that the offenders who get an education after a breach turn out to be better human beings. Thus, it is better to admit lawbreaker to reformation centres so that they can get their social life back. In conclusion, while it is true that detaining perpetrators of misdeed in jail is a viable means to check unlawful activity, I believe that sending them to rehabilitation centres is a better alternative.