The only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Road safety is a very important and concerning matter. Carelessness while driving can lead to severe accidents. Therefore, the only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. According to my perspective, I completely agree with administering severe penance for any kind of recklessness or irresponsibility on the streets as any mistake can cause someone to lose his or her life. In the essay, I will discuss the reason that lead to accidents and why severe penalizing is necessary for such delinquency. Firstly, punctuality is a major reason for mishaps on the highways. To put it more simply, people speed on the highways and break traffic rules when they are getting late to reach their destination. To illustrate, suppose a man needs to reach work by 8 but he started off late from home. So now to get to the office quickly he will break the speed limit which is very dangerous and can create disasters any moment he loses control. He might injure himself badly or even worse die. Secondly, drunk driving also originates tragedies on highways. Often youngsters drink and drive which results in them losing control and crashing into something else. It is very concerning as it can severely injure someone or even worse take someone's life. Likewise, teenagers speed on the tracks as being part of a racing competition or just for fun or adventure which is unacceptable because all of this promotes mishaps. To conclude, folks have a very casual attitude towards traffic laws. They are more prone to breaking them despite the fact that it can save their lives. Hence as mentioned earlier in the essay, I hold the view that the only way for the betterment of road safety is to administer severe penance on speeding offences on the streets as nothing is more important than life.