The ease of international travel and the spread of various kinds of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, people are likely to understand more about other cultures due to the ongoing growth in international travel and the continuous improvement of variation of media. I believe that this phenomenon has both benefits and drawbacks, thus, this essay will discuss that with specifics. In regard to advantages, it is undeniable that international travel and mass media has influenced positively on human life. First and foremost, travelers can have a number of fascinating experiences of cuisine and culture. When foreigners come to Vietnam, for example, they would have an opportunity to use chopsticks, enjoy traditional meals that they have never seen before. Besides, only with the media could people also acknowledge other customs if they cannot afford to go abroad. Both traveling overseas and broadcasting could make enormous profits for governments and enhance life qualities. On the other hand, these means are also not beneficial for dwellers and the country. The increasing air traffic causes a great deal of environmental pollution and leads to many health issues. Also when more people visit famous historical places, they may cause some damage to the monuments or artifacts. In addition, the Internet as a form of media opens up possibilities of imposters, fraud and hacking. Obviously, media can be addictive, such as some television programs and the internet, which can lead to decrease in people’s productivity. In conclusion, I would maintain that the disadvantages of international traveling and mass media certainly do not outweigh the advantages. Even so, the downsides cannot be overlooked. Authorities should take appropriate measures to ensure that they make use of maximum benefits from tourism and media.