People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that consumers’ shopping behaviour hinge more on their ages than other elements. I largely concur with this view, particularly in terms of preferences in product superiority and their decision-making process. First of all, individuals in different age groups play different roles in society, which affects the emphasis they put when choosing products. The office workers tend to focus on the appearance and brands of the goods since they have to go to public places to work and be involved in various social activities, where personal effects contribute to showing their own characteristics, tastes and values, as well as winning respect and affection from others. For example, outfits and make-up are symbols of people’s identity and make a statement on their social status, thus the youngsters squander money on designer clothes to be more popular with friends from the upper class. On the contrary, the elderly are prone to make decisions according to the practicability and quality, as they do not have such social needs as the younger generation. Furthermore, the ages have a perceptible impact on how people make a purchasing decision and shopping frequency, considering the economic status. Older people, especially those living on the retirement pension or under the tremendous financial pressure of bringing up children and supporting parents, are liable to be more conservative when shopping, which means they compare commodities for a longer time between more stores, in order to get a higher cost-effective product, while the young are normally more impulsive, with more disposable money and thus less necessity to worry about the price. For instance, these striplings make a purchase instantly after seeing an advertisement or getting recommendations from their friends. That is not to say other factors make no difference in consumption habits. Personal value may frequently affect shopping choices. Materialists, namely those who pursue enormous tangible enjoyment, tend to invest more time and funds in shopping, while others may spare more time in spiritual life with less material consumption. In addition, gender can be another vital variable since women generally care more about their outside beauty in today’s social culture. As a result, a noticeable higher frequency in buying accessories, cosmetics and clothes can be seen in females. In conclusion, age is a more significant factor in shopping customs, in view of the age-related disparity in life traces and properties.