Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

In this highly competitive world, it is widely true that a growing tide of individuals devote their precious time to working for more prolonged hours when compared to the past. This essay will shed light on the causes and analyze its effects. To my mind, an array of factors contribute to this complex scenario. First and foremost, many people strive hard to work extra hours in order to gain an advantage over their co-workers. Competition between employees is an inescapable part of most people’s work lives. It is undeniable that working intensively would assist them in standing at an advantageous position than other candidates. If one is not assiduous in his work, he will find it hard to catch up with his brilliant colleagues. Besides, every worker is captivated by the tremendous value of money. Human beings need money to pay for all the things that make their life possible, such as shelter, food, healthcare bills. Having enough money could cultivate a sense of gratification and fulfillment. This circumstance leads to a handful of effects. Firstly, extra office hours help them to get a promotion and easily attain higher payments, which has a say in their lives. Striving hard in work paves a concrete way to obtain higher earnings that fulfills their hopes. However, I strongly believe that the advantages pale in comparison with the drawbacks. Good health is indeed the most crucial factor for everyone. Overworking leads humans to many severe health problems such as arthritis, obesity or even depression. A recent study by Ogawa investigated the effects of long working hours on depression symptoms for Japanese residents and found that those working 80 to 99.9 h per week had great risk of experiencing depression. As for society, the consequence seems dire. Individuals are supposed to dedicate their valuable time to exploring their hobbies in colorful activities, but the prison-like workroom only makes them feel isolated and frustrated. Not everyone is able to imagine what would happen with the future of a nation when it lacks robust and healthy workers. In conclusion, despite the merits brought by overworking,the defects cannot be ignored. Workers contributing to their country are dubbed as the cream of the crop, and extra office hours only impair their precious health. It is advisable that employers and employees should give priority to their past times and their families.