People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Shopping is both a necessity and a luxury for everyone. Some people like to shop if they need something and someone may be shopping for fulfilling their desire to buy. Generally, an Individual’s shopping habits depend on various factors along with age being an important factor. This essay will explain some of the contributing elements for deciding people’s buying traits. To begin with, discussing various factors, the need and purpose of buying an item is something which comes first in our mind. A person decision totally depends on how much he may like to spend and what purpose will it solve for him. For example, an individual buying a new phone which cost Rs. 100,000 instead of other alternatives being available at half the price totally depends on his spending capacity and what purpose that phone is solving for him. Therefore, how old or mature a shopper is does not influence his or her decision. Secondly, while age helps a person to calculate the merits and demerits before shopping for something new based on his experience of past purchases. However, if a person is not aware of the new trends or does not possess the right knowledge, it can lead to a bad buy. For instance, an individual who has bought 3 televisions in the past few years may consider himself an expert buyer but his limited knowledge of the new technology can lead to a wrong purchase. Hence, it is not only the age but the level of awareness and understanding of the new trends which can help in making the right choice for buying. Thus, shopping behaviour is determined by various factors like awareness, need and usability and not only how old the buyer is. Therefore, this essay concludes that buying habits are complex in nature. In my opinion, various abilities an individual possesses are responsible for determining the buyer’s decisions.