The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace but nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the dawn of the 21st century, it is often argued that nuclear arsenals keep the world safe and that nuclear energy is inexpensive and environmentally friendly. I agree with this aforementioned notion; however, there are some dangers that cannot be overlooked. On the surface, there are major demerits associated with nuclear technology. Firstly, this technology can be catastrophic if it is not operated by professionals or is engulfed by natural disasters. The death and destruction caused by initial events of a nuclear disaster can have long-term health effects on various species including humans. To illustrate this, after the explosion of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant in 1986, an area of more than 4000 square kilometres were abandoned due to radioactive contamination apart from 134 people diagnosed with acute radiation sickness. Secondly, nuclear waste from fission reactions are radioactive, with a half-life of more than thousands of years, and there exist no viable methods to dispose of these toxic substances. On the other hand, one of the major benefits associated with nuclear technology is the production of clean electricity. This is because of the zero carbon emissions generated while producing energy from such technology, unlike thermal power plants. For instance, the Nuclear Energy Institute in the U.S. reported that annually, nuclear-generated electricity saves the atmosphere from 471 million metric tons of carbon monoxide that would otherwise come from fossil fuels. Additionally, the world is turning away from fossil fuels to renewable energy such as solar and wind. However, these sources are unequipped to keep up with the growing energy demand. However, nuclear plants can potentially meet such demands. Moreover, utilising this technology in developing weapons will enhance the security of several nations as it is a deterrent for starting a conflict. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that nuclear technology has significant merits that outweigh the drawbacks as it can solve the energy crisis in various countries across the globe.