In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this era of,development small local shops are going out business comparatively to malls which are based on large scale business. I agree with the fact that it is a positive development for our society as well as for the environment. Firstly, from small things to large things, the cost of raw materials is increasing every year due to which local shops prices are at their peak. But malls and huge departmental stores offer numerous discounts on each item every day which attracts more people to choose them over local tiny stores. For instance, my uncle went shopping for the first time at a shopping complex as he was not happy with the regional stock service for the price we were paying them for. Moreover, when he came back from the complex he was so impressed by the grocery items available there also at a very low price. Therefore, he decided to not prefer that stock instead of a nearby little department stock. Secondly, whenever a new mall is inaugurated then numerous jobs are available accordingly. Hence, every unemployed person in that area can apply. Furthermore, considering a huge staff make it easier to maintain and clean these accumulated stores. To illustrate, last week the first modern stock was opened in our area, I and my brother decided to visit it to buy some vegetables. We were so shocked by the cleanliness of the whole market also they were sanitizing it every two hours to prevent coronavirus. This had a huge impact on us and everyone as a result people in our neighbourhood also started to prefer it for shopping. To sum it up, I completely believe that people preferring large shopping centres for shopping instead of the local small market will be a huge positive impact on the development of the environment also including mankind.