Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both view and give your opinion?

There is a considerable debate over the controversial topic of whether economic growth should be motivated or terminated. While the supporters claim that only a healthy financial system can erase starvations and impoverishment, the opposition asserts that by chasing materialism, we are much more likely to see pricey costs imposed on the environment, putting our future in jeopardy. On the one hand, concentrating on rising gross domestic products seems to be the single efficient approach to alleviate extreme poverty and hunger. First and indisputably, only if they have a sufficient income from employment will the impoverished be able to afford decent meals on a daily basis. By reducing the tax burden and liberalizing the labour market, the government would attract numerous international corporates and encourage the small or medium-sized enterprises to thrive, generating thousands of job opportunities for the unoccupied. Second, the authority of a prosperous nation would have the financial power needed to properly provide free health public services, ensure food security and keep funding for education investment, which are all crucial for the extremely low-income class to have the chance to gradually step out of penury in the long run. On the other hand, it is also supposed that the current pace of global economic development is so devastating for the environment that it is totally understandable if it is required to be restrained. Seeking for maximizing the real output, the human race is currently facing countless environmental issues. For example, the escalated consumption of mass-produced products leads to an unimaginable amount of plastic directly dumped into the sea, killing millions of marines and sabotaging ocean ecosystems. Besides, deforestation for farming to develop agriculture is causing severe loss of animals’ natural habitats, posing serious extinction threats to endangered creatures. Last but not least, industrialization is often associated with burning a massive amount of fossil fuels, meaning that not only natural resources would be drained pretty soon, but also global warming leading to volatile weather issues that would worsen than ever due to the enormous CO2 emission. In short, acknowledging the strong arguments of both viewpoints, I suppose that a policy focusing on generating wealth is crucial to ease the world’s hunger and poverty. However, the environmental concerns also acutely need taking into account thoroughly to ensure a sustainable future for the next generations