Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that children who are raised in comfortable settings are less likely ready to handle the difficulties of adult life as compared to those raised in less privileged families. In this essay, I will be discussing the reasons why I strongly agree that those who have less money are more prepared than those used to wealth. Less privileged children do not have high expectations. Therefore, they are not easily frustrated because they are fully aware of the fewer opportunities set out for them. For example, two recently graduated students are scheduled for an interview, one who has graduated from a prestigious university and another who studied in a state college. The latter would expect that even though they both have the same set of skills, the former clearly has an advantage. As a result, he or she would, in a way, not expect that the job would be offered to him or her. In addition, they are generally used to the struggles of life. Those brought up in families who do not have much were trained to weigh their priorities. For instance, if a mother has experienced balancing school and work as a child, she will develop effective time management skills. Because of this, she can handle the demands not only of her job but also of her family. In contrast, someone who came from a wealthy family has the luxury to spare time and may not be able to have the capacity for effective work-life balance. In summary, children who grew up in families who belong to the lower social classes are more likely to overcome future problems. In my opinion, it is because they have not only lowered their expectations but also because they are used to the hardships of reality.