The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, increased traffic has led to major problems including various forms of pollution, traffic jams, safety etc. Many NGO's and government departments are working together on resolving the issue at hand. After years of discussion and,meeting they have found the root cause to be a degraded quality of public transportation. A well connected and maintained public transport will be aid public in daily commute like home to work, shopping and education which in turn reduces the vehicles on road. Huge traffic jams in cities occur during rush hours. Many the times these coincide with the office hours. For example, driving people not only lose a lot of time but also remain uncomfortable during travel. These inconveniences pile up and increase the major chance of accidents. But it could all be avoided if the masses prefer other options like metros, carpooling, buses. With the increased use of these means, they will experience comfortable commutes, reduced time and lower accidents. The most important concern of the public while travelling is the safety of their lives. For instance, the Crowding of vehicles has led to increased travel time which results in a hasty decision by drivers and ultimately concluding to reduced safety for pedestrians and people on the vehicle. Pedestrians account for major casualties in road accidents of which a high percentage are children. It all could be reversed with the increased usage of mass transportation. In conclusion, the population and government have to join hands to form a pact. The government, on one hand, have to create good and well connected public transport while the public has to sworn to utilise to full extend. With,cooperation it could be resolved.