In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish as they cause water and soil pollution. I agree with this statement that the Government should ban the use of plastic to reduce pollution. To commence with, plastic bags produce the main garbage as they are non-biodegradable and do not decompose easily from the surface of earth which declines the fertility of the soil. It also harms the animals because they eat the waste material that may cause their death and health issues. Similarly, the increasing use of elastic bags produces water pollution as individuals throw garbage near the beaches or even inside the sea which damages the aquatic species. For instance, in India, we find various news related to water contamination as many rivers are filled with plastic and waste which impacts the cleanliness of the water. Another reason for water pollution is the waste or chemicals thrown by the industries that manufacture plastic bags which is hazardous to marine species as well as humans. As the plastic material has not decomposed for various years, therefore, it should be banned to decrease pollution. The Government should make strict rules and put a penalty on shopkeepers if they use plastic bags. Moreover, they also encourage everyone to use bags which are made of clothes by awarding the people by organizing various campaigns. To conclude, as we notice plastic bags in various shops cause pollution, therefore, it is mandatory that the Government should ban plastic and make strict rules.