QUESTION: SOME EXPERTS BELIEVE THAT IT IS BETTER FOR CHILDREN TO BEGIN LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE AT PRIMARY SCHOOL RATHER THAN SECONDARY SCHOOL. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THIS OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

It is believed that learning a second language at primary schools can bring a wide range of benefits for learners compare with those who start studying at secondary schools. In my opinion, studying a foreign language at an early age brings more benefits than drawbacks. To begin with, some experts think primary pupils are too young to learn a second language, and they believe that it is more important for children to develop their mother language in this stage. In other words, learning a new language should be postponed until children mature enough to absorb it, and the ideal period is the secondary level when children had developed their first language fluently. In addition, because of the short attention span, primary children might not learn a foreign language effectively. Therefore, if we invest in teaching a new language for early year children, it will waste money and time. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that teaching a foreign language to primary children is more beneficial. Firstly, many linguistic theories have shown that children might acquire a new language better at a very young age. For example, many linguists believe that the earlier the children start to expose to the English environment, the easier and quicker they become fluently and intelligibly in that language. Secondly, children who have a chance to learn new languages are more likely to develop love and passion for learning a language in the future than those who do not study. This is because children are often taught language through songs, games, and drawings, which can help children learn and play simultaneously. In conclusion, I believe that children gain more benefits than drawbacks if they start learning a foreign language at primary schools.