Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups, however, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media has become very popular among all age groups. Thus, sparking debate about the pros and cons of rampant use of the facilities. Social media provides a platform to connect with friends, family and other like-minded people but it has given rise to competition among people as everyone strives to portray their life to be perfect. In this essay, both the advantages and disadvantages of such media are discussed along with my opinion about it. The IT boom from the 1990s to 2010s have paved the path for the development of various connecting sites and apps. Each generation uses these facilities for various purposes according to their needs. The mobile applications are highly popular among the younger crowd who use them to follow their friends, favourite celebrities and influencers. They like to give virtual updates about their life to their acquaintances. Though the tech-savvy youngsters form a majority among the users, the older generation employs it to connect with people from their alma mater with whom they had lost contact due to lack of means of communication. They reunite virtually and share their life stories and experiences. Another benefit of social platforms is the speed of data exchange is very high. These days, any news goes viral within seconds of the incident happening. This has helped many people get help in the troubled Covid times to acquire necessary assistance. Many people who are facing an economic crisis initiate crowdfunding through these platforms which succeed to get them through their problems. These are a few upsides of social media. However, every coin has two sides likewise virtual media has its disadvantages. The users start comparing their lives to each other, conveniently ignoring the fact that everyone person has difficulties in life leading to feelings of envy and jealousy. This in turn affects the mental health of the person and society in general. The audience does not realise that everything posted on media handles may not be a complete truth. There are multiple layers to any situation which cannot be depicted on a virtual platform. Many-a-times, this ignorance has led to the spread of fake news which had irreversible side effects. Personally, I have used Instagram and I feel it was toxic and a complete waste of time in a very crucial period of my life. Even if you try to avoid it, human psychology dictates that you will compare certain aspects of your life with other people. Platforms like Instagram provide the best opportunities for such comparisons which will prove to be troublesome in the longer run. And many of my friends have now deleted our accounts for the sole purpose of retaining mental peace and using our time judiciously. Summarizing all the points mentioned above, I am of the opinion that the downsides of social media will cause a lot of harm if not acknowledged and acted upon when we have time. Overexposure to,all this may ruin lives over a period of time. Hence, moderation of the use of social media is extremely essential.