As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problem?

The issue of pollution caused by travelling by plane has aroused people’s discussion. Recently, numerous negative effects have arisen in consequence of this and societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. Air pollution is one of the primary matters that has emerged as a result of the rising demand for aircraft. This is due to the fact that airplanes generate a massive amount of exhaust fumes into the atmosphere. Therefore, the carbon footprint will increase rapidly and cause global warming. For instance, a round-trip flight from Europe to Australia generates about 4,5 tons of carbon. You can drive a car over 2000km and still produce less emissions than that. This could lead to other disastrous events such as acid rain thereby contaminating the soil. Another problem is that air pollution has a severe impact on humans and can lead to respiratory illnesses such as lung diseases. On the other hand, authorities can come up with a viable solution by enacting the appropriate policies. Firstly, the government should aggressively encourage the use of environmentally friendly green energy resources. A second measure would be develop high speed rail networks to discourage people from flying domestically, thus reducing people’s demand to fly. Finally, planting trees is an effective way to prevent the harmful effects of carbon emissions on the environment. All in all, there are various negative consequences of the aviation industry and it seriously affects the environment and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems.