Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different attitudes towards reading news. While some people claim that it is trivial to keep updated with the latest news on either magazines or television due to disconnection to an individual’s daily life, I would argue that staying up to date with the latest trends is totally advisable. Having access to daily news is a must to be well informed about ongoing and imminent events taking place around the world. For example, the governments always call for citizens’ awareness of nearby epicentres amid natural disasters, so as to have full preparation and self-protection, via broadcasting or newspapers. Additionally, in the light of political protests or wars, citizens must be well conscious to avoid unworthy casualty. That said, news has an irrefutable influence on the lives of everyone. Newspaper comes with informative and omniscient aspects, ranging from education to economics and healthcare, which can satisfy people of all ages with different predilections. To illustrate, those who work as scientists may be in need of updated information about recent reports while experts in finance and business eagerly seek economic insight. Fathers having concerns about sports could find the results of football matches on a TV channel while housewives could find newly-opened stores with great discounts. For all those reasons, the news is believed to be an essence in daily life and newspaper readership is certainly a beneficial investment, not only for entertaining but also for keeping updated. In conclusion, staying tuned with fresh news is not only a means to gain knowledge of local events but also an effective way to spend time properly. Therefore, I totally disagree that it is meaningless to follow the news.