More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. What are the most serious problems associated with obesity and what solutions can you suggest?

Obesity among children is an urgent crisis for developed countries. The main reason for this is children staying indoors participating in little or no physical work. Therefore, making physical education mandatory in schools would be a viable solution. Most youngsters in rich nations spend their day in school and doing related chores which falls short of physical work because the pressure of getting good grades and finishing homework makes them play less and stay indoors. Consequently, this harms their fitness causing them to gain weight. In addition to this, overconsumption of fast food adds fuel to the fire as they fill themselves with unhealthy food without burning the essential amount of calories. Avoiding obesity amongst youth is possible by adding a compulsory daily physical training class in their curriculum since it will help them in being active and fit. The class should promote students to choose their favourite sport so they develop an interest in training and play that sport in their free time. Furthermore, fast food should only be allowed on weekends and special events in order to keep a check on overweighting. Lastly, children should be aware of obesity and its dreadful results as it would make them self-responsible for their own health. To conclude, obesity is a grave problem for rich countries as their children spend less time playing sports but it can be alleviated by adding compulsory sports training in schools.