Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is an irrefutable fact that advertisement strategies have been constantly changing throughout the years. Nowadays, international companies sponsor sports events. A segment of society is convinced that this trend has drawbacks for consumers and companies reputations. Others, however, believe the opposite. Both points of view need to be addressed before formulating an opinion. There are two significant drawbacks to corporate sponsorships. First and foremost, the company's reputation may be tightly linked to the player and vice versa. For instance, if a player becomes a drug addict or if a team fails, the sponsor company may be perceived negatively by consumers. Secondly, tobacco and alcohol or sugary drinks advertisements may be harmful to consumers. Companies like Coca Cola, Mc Donald's advertise harmful products on the billboards of sports events. This results in increased consumption of harmful drinks, sugar and salt. On the contrary, the sponsorship money can be sent on improving sports facilities and purchasing expensive equipment for players. As a result, a player or even a team will have a chance to improve their skills and perform better. This way, players can focus on themselves rather than being distracted by financial worries. Take, for example, developing countries. Many talented players have to work to pay the bills. In turn, companies can get increased media exposure on their products or services and boost their sales. To conclude, I personally feel that the merits of sports events sponsorship by transnational companies outweigh the demerits. Nevertheless, efforts should be made to minimize the latter.