The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that social media usage is one of the most popular activities among many people worldwide. While I accept that people have several reasons to increasingly make use of it, I believe it is more likely to possess a detrimental impact. On the one hand, social media is believed to be both entertaining and educational. It benefits people who eagerly strive for seeking knowledge as well as inspiration in endless online material sources and social networks. This can be done as long as there is an internet connection, everything can be accessed at their fingertips. From an entertaining perspective, social networking sites allow people to keep in touch with other people regularly, keep up to date with news from their friends, call and see each other from a distance and so on. Facebook, for example, is a powerful social media platform that gives people broader eyesight of the world by allowing them to interact, join enormous communities and even grow business. In Vietnam, people tend to see Facebook and Zalo as the primary means of communication online. That said, the number of users inevitably skyrockets by a tremendous degree. However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Social networking can be highly addictive because people probably dive right into a topic that draws their attention even though they are sitting among the others. They would stop chatting suddenly to leave a comment or to like a post they spot on Instagram, for instance, and keep surfing for at least a few minutes afterwards. Also, despite the breakthroughs in technology, face-to-face interaction encourages people to use all senses in order to communicate fully, such as touch and gestures, therefore, develop social skills thoroughly. In conclusion, despite the rise in the use of social media, I consider that there is no substitute for face-to-face interaction. I would presume the drawbacks of lack of conversation in person outweigh the advantages.