The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only langusge to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is an irrefutable fact that due to the faster growth in the tourism sector, English has become the most spoken language in the world. Some people reckon that soon it will become the most dominant dialect around the globe. However, this trend brings a mixed bag of both boon and bane which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. On the constructive part, society is blessed with numerous benefits of having a common English jargon which is worth mentioning. To begin with, having a common language allows for easy communication between two nations. In other words, people can effectively be able to communicate with people of other societies, which will bring the exchange of knowledge and ideas rather easily. Secondly, it will promote globalization as well as the economic growth of a country. With only one dominant Jagran being practised across the globe allows quick and easy exchange of trade among the countries which will boost their economy and make them prosperous. On the destructive part, there appear to be potential shortcomings from this trend. Chiefly, It would lead to the loss of multiple cultural diversities which often speak different languages. People will dwell towards English in order to obtain better jobs and life opportunities, they will tend to forget their own mother tongue which can put other dialects and their ethnicity to endangerment. Additionally, tourism will be greatly affected by this as there will be no point in visiting other countries, where visitors will find the same culture which is being followed by their natives. To illustrate this, countries like Vietnam are witnessing a gradual dip in their tourism from the last two years, since people there started to follow western culture, leaving behind their own culture in order to attract more tourists. To conclude, having a common language will obviously allow easy communication and foster the economical growth of a country. Conversely, it will demolish the local languages and their cultures which should be prioritized in order to maintain their precious values.