People who go to live in other countries, should follow the customs and traditions of the new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that a lot of immigrants are choosing to reside in different countries, in order to receive better life opportunities. It is of the opinion by some that people should adapt to the new social culture of that particular area where they are living as a foreigner. However, I partially agree with this given notion since practising his own traditional values is what makes one unique. Apparently, adopting a new tradition holds a wide range of benefits. To begin with, it is an arduous task to adjust themselves to a newer environment. Therefore, if a person already has the knowledge about what kind of society he is going to live in and already accustomed himself to their particular social norms such as religion, the food they eat, environment and language they speak. Indeed, it will be a job of ease to adjust to a new place and the local community will also welcome them with open hands.To illustrate this point, students who immigrate to china for further medical studies are given prior two months of core- training to learn the Chinese language and their religion, so that it would be easier for them to mingle with society. Secondly, immigrants who learn to adjust first, do receive better job opportunities than those who are stringent about their thinking. On the other hand, maintaining your own traditional roots has its own merits. Chiefly, because, it give the person its own unique identity as well as holding to it, maintains their respect and believes in the foreign community as well. To exemplify this, Sikhism- a religion from a state Punjab, is widely practised and respected in Canada and The USA since, Punjabi immigrants did not allow their culture to vanish by practising it. Furthermore, it attracts local communities as well, which allows the mutual exchange of values and thoughts; it aids people of other religions to gain a better understanding and knowledge of their religion. In conclusion, in order to be a part of a foreign community, it is better to be familiar with their customs and traditional grounds, which they follow. Conversely, one should be in touch with his own beliefs as well because it makes them stand out and through the cultural exchange will make people respect each other's culture as well.