Some people think the government should subsidise fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Others argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some individuals that the government should introduce subsidies on fruits and vegetables to provide them to the public at a reasonable cost. Another school of thought think it would be beneficial to impose taxes on unhealthy food. This essay outlines each of these views and agrees that promoting both these views can result in maximum efficacy. One primary reason for avoiding the purchase of healthy food is the higher costs associated with it. Providing subsidies on these healthy items will encourage the public to buy and consume these products as they are available at a reasonable cost. Moreover, it can help in improving the well-being of many individuals by overcoming the detrimental effects of eating fast food. Additionally, they can benefit from the superior nutritional value delivered by fruits and vegetables. On the other hand, higher taxes on unhealthy food can be advantageous. This is because the lower prices attract people towards the consumption of unhealthy food. Enforcing higher amounts of tax on these food items will deter people from contemplating their purchase. Furthermore, unhealthy food has no nutritional index and increased consumption of this type of food can be detrimental to one’s health by increasing the incidence of chronic diseases such as diabetes and hypertension. For this reason, it is clearly evident that higher amounts of tax on unhealthy food items can discourage people from buying them In my opinion, to achieve rapid and optimum results, both of these views could be implemented by the government. As a result, this would ensure opposite trends by increasing the consumption of healthy food and a decline in the amount of unhealthy food consumed. In conclusion, the costs of each of these food items play a crucial role in their purchase and the government can positively affect this concern by introducing a combination of these ideas would be beneficial by improving the physical and mental health of the public.