News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

In recent times, details of the updates and changes across the globe are being delivered through various sources. In fact, there is a good reason why having access to such information is essential for people ’s daily lives. The media, however, covers negative occurrences rather than the positive for various reasons which will be outlined in this essay. Furthermore, whether people should be informed of more pleasant news or the opposite will be elucidated. To begin with, news are integral sources that connects people to the world. For example, a viewer from England can learn about the political situation in Afghanistan or a storm in the Philippines through media in real time. Not only situations from continents away but also cases from neighbourhood can be reached through news which is why it is vital that people have access to them. But why does it seem like the world is always full of doom on television and social media? There are reasonable explanations to why audiences receive more unpleasant news rather than good. It is primarily because compared to ancient times, there are more crimes, political conflicts, and extreme weather conditions. These overwhelmed the celebratory occasions, so it is perceived that media is sharing only the unlikable. The truth is people need to be aware of both terrific news and destructions. When we hear about uplifting circumstances, we feel enjoyment and relaxed. But when people are informed of destructive events, they can take precautions in advance. To illustrate, if notified in advance of the upcoming hurricane, one can make necessary preparations for survival. Thus, newspapers and TV programs should include both positive and negative equally. To conclude, despite the fact that there are more unfavourable events nowadays, information conveyed shouldn’t be filtered. Every nationality requires truthful updates from across town or half the world away so that they can be on the same page.