In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

As society advances, many urban dwellers have made the decision to either live in a nuclear family or a single-person household instead of a multi-generation one. Personally, I believe this change can be beneficial to the young generations to some extent. However, it will simultaneously create more obstacles for the family regarding their wellbeing. On the one hand, a one -person household allows the young generation to have the freedom they want without affecting anyone and vice versa. As their lifestyle differs from the conventional one, namely more fast-paced and busy, living alone or in a smaller-scaled family will allow them to adapt to their flexible schedule better. For instance, they will not be criticized for coming home from work too late and their parents and grandparents will not interfere with their daily activities. On the other hand, living alone can negatively impact families for numerous reasons, with the most significant one being the lack of communication. Without proper interaction between family members, their bonds will loosen, while the elderly are more prone to loneliness, sadness and other fatal mental illnesses, the children are unable to learn valuable life lessons from their grandparents. Moreover, old people are more vulnerable as they age, they can easily fall ill and have no one to properly take care of them. Another problem inherent in this change is that the precious core values of the family will be at risk of being forgotten. Initially, moral values are passed down from generation to generation, with this new lifestyle, however, this is highly unlikely to happen. In conclusion, even though single-person households and nuclear families can be advantageous, I firmly believe they are outweighed by the drawbacks and potential risks relating to people’s health and spiritual life.