In many families today, both parents work. Are there more advantages when a mother works than disadvantages?

Due to the rising cost of living, both the husband and the wife work in many families. Working parents are not able to spend enough time with their children. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this development far exceed the advantages. To begin with, when both partners continue to work after marriage, they can have financial stability in their family. Indeed, they will be able to fulfil all the needs of the children. Most couples in China, for example, continue working after marriage and provide quality life, especially quality education, to their children. Moreover, parents can purchase properties and save an enormous amount of money for their child’s future. Therefore, both parents can rest assured that financial prospects for their family will be better. On the other hand, if both parents are working, they will have to leave their young child with guardians or childcare centres. As a result, mothers will not learn about their child’s habits and behaviour. For instance, children mostly learn bad habits when they are not under the supervision of their parents. Consequently, they might continue to follow the bad habits, and mothers will not be aware of them. Hence, it is essential for mothers to be around their children to monitor their behaviour / behavioural patterns closely. In conclusion, this essay argued that although an employed mother can contribute financially to their family, they are better off looking after their children. Thus, the disadvantages of working mothers greatly outweigh the advantages. Also, mothers who are always around children can ensure that they are raised with the necessary attention and care.