Does internet need to be controlled by the government?

In most countries around the world, the Internet is managed and inspected by the government for many reasons such as monitoring the activity of the population of a country. However, some people might not consider this a very ethical or correct management or activity of the government. In my view, this act could be helpful in many ways all around the world for safety reasons. Mostly, people would not appreciate the government taking control of the internet as that would mean invasion of privacy for some people and therefore means most of the population's data would be exposed to the government. That would make it easier for ad targeting or even making it harder for talking / engaging in a conversation online without being exposed to the government however it is very difficult for the government to monitor everything considering a large variety of populations uses the internet. Secondly, if the government starts an action to take assess the internet ’s action, it might have many benefits such as preventing illegal activities. Many illegal activities are carried out online which could be prevented if monitored and took charge against such as money laundering can be executed online and would lead to multiple illegal activities all over the country. If the government takes charge against finding illegal activities online it could be very useful to increase efficiency and decrease harmful online crime cases in the long term. In conclusion, despite the invasion of privacy, I strongly feel that it would make a huge difference considering the benefits over the negative effects. The bans, 24/7 monitoring and more restrictions would be better for the whole population to be kept away from forbidden and impermissible actions over the worldwide internet.