Some believe that sport competitions are a source of emotional stress for young people. Therefore, youth should be banned from participating in sport competitions. Do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Sports are gaining massive popularity in recent times. A few people think that game contests contribute to mental burden among youngsters due to which they should be prohibited from taking part in various sports events. I am in complete disagreement with this statement as they have an immensely positive impact on one's character and mental health. To begin with, participating in games can inhibit a person to indulge in anti-social activities. Nowadays, consuming alcohol, smoking tobacco or weed, and using illicit drugs have become common, especially among teenagers. These activities can often disrupt their future. But a person who is actively joining athletic events is least likely to become an alcoholic or smoker as they are more focused on their performance in their respective games so they tend to avoid getting involved in anti-social habits. Therefore, it helps them to become good civilians. Probing further, a sportsperson tends to become more strong mentally. They take up various challenges in the competitions due to which they learn to accept victories and defeats. They perform under pressure sometimes, which helps to develop strong leadership skills. Moreover, they tend to become more calm, composed and patient. Additionally, it can assist them to cope up with their life challenges in a better practical way. Hence, sports build a strong foundation for good mental health. To conclude, athletic competitions play an integral part in shaping the character of an individual and providing numerous psychological benefits. Therefore, they are definitely not contributing to the emotional burden among juveniles and they should not be discouraged to take part in them.