It has been more than 40 years since man first landed on the moon. Some people think that space research is a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

More than 40 years ago first steps on the moon were taken by a human being. Some people believe, that cash invested into the research of the space are money wasted. I agree with this statement only partly and in the following essay I would like to describe why. On the one hand, humankind is facing a plethora of serious problems and different kinds of challenges, which should be funded by governments and large organizations. For instance, the scarcity of food in non-developed countries leads to thousands of deaths daily. Furthermore, we are also facing a huge environmental crisis and it should be an absolute priority to preserve Mother Earth for the next generations. To put it in other words, I think, that we should invest the vast majority of our cash to protect the planet we are living on. On the other hand, the universe has fascinated millions of people over the centuries. It is completely understandable, that humans, as a curious living creatures want to explore everything the univers has to offer, but it costs a lot of money and sometimes even human lives. Governments of developed countries invested enormous sums of finances were put into building space ships in the past 50 years, but there were some catastrophes which opened the eyes of general public. In conclusion, I believe, that funding of space research should be limited, however it should not be banned completely. In my opinion, a compromise should be found between funding the issues we are facing and the exploration of the cosmos.