Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The important role of governments is providing various facilities and utilities for the comfort and safety of citizens including by transportation. Some perceive that governments should invest funds on railways rather than roadways. This essay disagrees with the aforementioned statement and believes that the budget should be a balance between railways and roads. On the one hand, private cars play an inevitable role in our daily life. It is due to a wide range of positive aspects. First and foremost, it is the freedom to travel. There is on limitation to fixed routes and timetables. For example, when many want to go somewhere, they have to check timetables and pathways of public transports. In contrast, some people using private cars can arrange their schedule freely and plan their destinations. Second, personal cars give comfort as larger seats. On contrary, it is likely to be crowded in public trains. Last but not least, people can go to routes that are difficult to reach including far-reaching areas and small lanes. On the other hand, railways are equally necessary as roadways. There are a variety of reasons which government should spend money on the extension of railways. Trains are more capable of people than private cars or buses. Therefore, trains are environmental-friendly. In addition, people can reach their destinations on time because trains do not get stuck in traffic jams. To summarize, railways and roads are both essential transportations for travelling purposes. In my opinion, governments should be spending equal taxpayer’s money on railways and roads.