Some people say that with the development of modern technology, printed books, newspapers and magazines lose their importance. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an argument that traditional means of media such as paper books, newspapers and magazines are having less or no significance in the modern world due to the prevalence of digital-based forms of reading. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view. I hold a firm belief that advanced technologies have outweighed the role of traditional books, newspapers and magazines on account of several reasons. The first one is because compared with conventional forms of reading, e- books and online press, for instance, are by far more convenient and free of charge. In fact, with a simple click, people can have access to a huge number of news websites on the Internet to get updated about current affairs or read books for pleasure. In addition, another explanation for people’s less preference for those printed ones is because the paper quality of books and newspapers can degrade and turn into yellow with time, making people find these items ineligible and frustrating when reading them after a long time despite many attempts to store and maintain them carefully. Others argue that printed books, newspapers and magazines still play a vital role in a technologically-driven society since they believe that these traditional forms can surpass the technological ones in terms of reliability and authenticity. Having said that, I am still more convinced that it is justifiable in some certain cases, and in general, there is no doubt that the roles of conventional forms are fading. Besides, holding a widespread distrust about the reliable degree of Internet-based platforms is unreasonable as these days, many websites or online newspapers are strictly scrutinized before being published. People can get authentic and real news as well as be protected from false information if they access official platforms. In conclusion, because of the aforementioned reasons, I completely support the view that printed books, newspapers and magazines are becoming less important when modern technologies are constantly developing.