In many countries, the number of animals and plants are declining. Why do you think it is happening? How to solve this issue?

Wildlife protection has been one of the major concerns of many nations. Over the last few years, more and more animals are becoming extinct. This phenomenon is adversely affecting the environment. The following paragraphs will analyze the reasons for this issue and suggest remedial measures. Although extinction is a natural process, the rate at which it is happening now is not. Over 26,500 species are estimated to be at risk of extinction. There are many factors driving biodiversity loss. First and foremost, illegal human activities like illegal fishery, illegal hunting and poaching pose a threat to endangered animals. Some people hunt, kill and catch animals to get financial benefits. Others, however, do it for entertainment purposes. The second group of factors are related to human habitation. People, trying to improve the infrastructure, build new roads, destroy forests, etc. As a result, animals ' natural habitat becomes destructed which in turn leads to degradation of the quality of their lives. For example, thousands of elephants are dying each year in South Africa as the population grows. In terms of solutions, governments are largely responsible. Illegal activities leading to wildlife decline should have harsher punishment. Additionally, government representatives can post more guards in preservation areas to deter poaching. Finally, special campaigns can be organized to increase the population of endangered species. For example, breeding. To conclude, if special measures are not taken to protect animals and plants the speed of extinction will only escalate. I believe that governments have a crucial role to play to ensure nature for future generations.