In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, criminal activities performed by adolescents are rising significantly. Many claims that penalising the teenagers who are involved in massive offences, should be treated in a similar way as adults. I agree with this forementioned statement up to a large extent. However, along with this,other measures should be taken into account before making a judgement such as circumstances and reason behind the crime. Firstly, those who believe in equal penalties as adults, think it is important because it will develop a sense of fear in teenagers which will make them think twice before committing a misdeed. For example, life long imprisonment for an adolescent will be more deteriorating than juvenile prison for a few months or years. Therefore, young people will not indulge in big crimes at least and, eventually the rate of violence will dropdown. In addition to this, if youth criminals will get adult's correction then another peer group will be more cautious regarding breaking the laws. Because one such incident of their lives can destroy their future and opportunities ahead. For instance,knowing about life sentences and death penalties will make a difference for youngsters because at present many adolescents think that they can get away even by doing serious damage to the community. On the other hand, Before coming to a decision, other external factors should be assessed such as in what circumstances offence was done. For example, sometimes self-protection can lead to harm to the other person which is completely unintentional. Moreover, unknowingly done violation of regulations can be detrimental. Therefore, in these,cases one should look at the real scenario and surroundings which made a child do what is unethical. In these situations, mental health and educational counselling should be considered along with punishments as per crime. To conclude this, an increasing number of crimes can be controlled by punishing all criminals in some way with no discrimination based on age. However, surroundings and reasons behind performing the offensive acts should be taken into account to offer counsellings and support groups for children.