A lot of money is spent on repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing old buildings, money should be spent on knocking down old buildings and building new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Remodeling antique buildings require heavy investments. Some argue that it would be more worth to demolish old sites to build modern buildings instead of reconstructing old ones. I only partially agree with this notion because the existence of ancient buildings allows individuals to learn ancient local architecture and history was made there. First of all, maintaining old structures have an imperative benefit for the society in a way that they can provide us information of building techniques and structures of old times. For instance, we can learn the kinds of materials used in building or the architectural aesthetics from decades ago. In this modern technology world, it is a privilege to be able to experience the beauty of the past. Therefore, I believe it is indispensable to keep a portion of old buildings. Secondly, memorable historic events took place in certain places. For example, old palaces in Seoul, South Korea, where ancient monarchy ruled the country, are maintained to hold the original condition because they are dominating symbols of their country. Other significant sites including office buildings, castles, and temples must be treated with respect and caution as well as they reflect the nation’s image and background. Thus, young generations must not discard the significance of old places and destroy them. On the other hand, some insignificant old places are better suited to be demolished. They do not hold any value to the society and unsafe to shelter residences. Modern buildings must replace them to utilize the space for appropriate use. To sum up, despite costing an astronomical amount of money in repairing ancient buildings, they are sources of information regarding construction techniques and history. Though I believe that some sites can be reconstructed to host modern requirements, certain places are remarkable and must be maintained.