Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I agree to the point that commercials and advertisements attract us to buy products though we really do not need it at that particular time. Marketing may benefit companies to increase sales, but for a common man it is a trap. We can see different posters displaying discounts on various products. Discount is one word that draws most of the middle class families to buy items. People tend to buy the items at a reduced price without knowing the quality of them. In addition to the above point, there is one more factor that affects the public. As a result of these commercials, we can see a number of announcements on a particular product from different brands. This confuses people to decide which one to buy.   We can see big celebrities promoting products and even endorsing them. But this is our responsibility to assess the quality of the commodity before getting it.  Nowadays, there is no limit to where the campaigns can happen. We are seeing flyers on the roads displaying the Item, Ads in the TV, even in the social media. Moreover, there are separate channels for the commercials. This shows that they have become part and parcel of our lives. This is not confined to commodities alone but has its mark in food items as well. In conclusion, advertisements are beneficial to companies to gain profits but can have adverse impact on the public. This shows that people's responsibility has increased while getting an item. This includes assessing the quality and necessity of the item instead of buying a discounted priced product.