Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music, film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no public or government restrictions on what they do.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art is a great means of communication. Throughout the centuries, artists were inspiring people and promoting harmony. However, in some countries, artists do not have the freedom to express their thoughts. Thus, a segment of society is concerned that artists should not have any restrictions from the government. I partially agree with this statement, artists need the freedom to create, but certain restrictions are necessary. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. It is true that creativity leads humanity to progress and people can create when there are no boundaries. Artists should not be afraid of the consequences of their works. If creators do not have restrictions, more and more artworks in the form of movies, books, music and paintings can enrich our culture. Moreover, some artists highlight social issues and society pays attention to them. For instance, a music festival is organised every year on the shore of the Aral sea to grab the attention of people in the drought. Nonetheless, certain forms of art may be unsuitable for society. Criticising artworks can be deeply offensive for a group of people. Take, as an example, religion. It is a very sensitive topic, any criticism or sarcasm can lead to misunderstandings and religious clashes. Adding further, movies and paintings containing illustrations for adults should not be available for children. More specifically, books for teenagers should not contain pornographic materials. To conclude, In my opinion, some forms of art require censorship. In other words, artists should be aware that their creativity will not cause violence, degradation, and scandals in society.