Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

In the modern world, students can choose what they want to learn in colleges or universities. Nevertheless, the number of science studying students is on the decline with the introduction of computer-related subjects. Although it is a prima facie attractive trend, it has more negative impacts on society. As a nation, innovation is a must to move forward. When more students learn science, there will be more scientists and their innovations which will help to produce new machines and equipment. As a result, the production rate will skyrocket within the country and eventually contribute to the economy. If students do not study science, there will be a deficiency in the scientific job market which cannot be replaced with the people who have mastered computer science. Furthermore, as there is a growing trend of children’s favor of computer-related courses, a large number of people will move to the job market and eventually there will be a plethora of employees such as software engineers, system administrators. However, since the computer-related job market is still growing, many computer graduates will be unemployed or underpaid. For example, in Sri Lanka, the average salary of a junior system developer is way below a fresh science graduate’s salary. Therefore from the job perspective, more students should select science subjects in order to protect their future. In conclusion, even though there is a positive trend of students ’ movement towards computer-related subjects, they should think to learn science since it is more advantageous to the country as well as themselves. Parents and teachers should take responsibility for selecting the correct path that is science.