Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, education has become one of the highest priorities of the parents for their children, as education can create better careers for children in the future. However, some people criticized that the curriculum taught in primary, secondary, high school until university level focus only on learning facts, instead of learning practical skills. According to my personal opinion, schools have set a curriculum to balance the practical and theoretical skills and theoretical subjects cannot be replaced by practical skills. Thus, I believe schools focus not only on theoretical but also on practical skills. First off, schools have set a standard curriculum to provide the students with equalized skills between theoretical and practical skills. To exemplify, the students in schools are provided with extracurricular subjects. The students may learn many practical skills in extracurricular activities. With this standard curriculum provided by schools, the students may learn both theoretical and practical skills. Thus, the students can learn soft skills that are not taught in the classroom. Secondly, in fact theoretical knowledge is the basic knowledge that must be possessed before apply it in practice. For example, in patisserie faculty the students have to master the theoretical knowledge of the materials and mechanism or steps before apply it in practice. Without the theoretical subjects, students will not apply them in the right way. Hence, students need to learn theoretical skills before applying them in a practical matters. In conclusion, schools have already created the best standard curriculum that fits the needs of students and in fact students need to learn basic theoretical knowledge before applying it in practice. Thus, I am of the opinion that schools have set curriculum based on the students ’ needs.