Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Music has played a pivotal role throughout our history. However, there are mixed opinions about its significance, as many believe it to be a boon for humankind, while others consider it as a curse. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and give my personal opinion on the subject matter. Firstly, I will explain how music has helped in transformation of our society and secondly, I will write down the negative influences of the same. As the saying goes, " Music is universal, as it transcends all the cultural and linguistic barriers". Hence, music has played a significant role in the unification of the world. Historically, it has influenced and ignited major revolutions and had been a catalyst for almost every social reforms. For example, during the Indian independence movement, the songs penned down by revolutionaries such as Bhagat Singh and Ram Prasad Bismil, had a long-lasting impact on the youth irrespective of their cultural belonging, eventually contributing to fire-up the overall cause and saving the nation from the hands of tyranny. In addition to that, music is an essential part of medical science. It is used as a relaxation medium in therapy and, also during the treatment of multiple psychological illness such as Alzheimers, anxiety, panic attacks etc. On the other hand, there are many negative impacts of music largely due to the success and fame it brings to the artists. Musical talents enjoy immense popularity and lead a luxurious lifestyle, often engaging in anti-social activities such as drug use and alchoholism. As a result of this, the large followers gained by these artists, also dream of a similar way of living like their ideals, resulting in a counter-culture attitude among the youth. This can be easily seen from the activities that took place in the 1960s in USA as a response to the Vietnam war and Civil rights movement. Musicians largely engaged in drugs and alchohol, inspired a generation of youth to lead a care-free lifestyle, eventually resulting in vandalism and damage to public properties. In conclusion, there may be many negative influences of music and it's use. However, in my opinion, the positives outweigh the negatives and music should be promoted worldwide.