It is more important forschool children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some commentators argue that it is more necessary for children to study local history than the history of the world. While I agree that school children should learn about local history, I believe that schools should study the history of the world. On the one hand, it is more significant for children to study local history. Firstly, by knowing about the past of their country forms a sense of belonging and pride in each child. For example, when children learn about how their earlier generations fought and made sacrifices for their freedom of the country, they will appreciate the value of life and liberty they enjoy today. Secondly, as youngsters have a deep understanding of the origins and core values of their nation, they will be motivated to carry on the best customs for generations to come. On the other hand, schoolchildren should be encouraged to have the knowledge of the history of the world. The current trend towards globalisation make it more necessary for pupils to know about ethnic groups and other cultures. This will form a mutual understanding of the origins and value of countries over the world. Another important factor is that a study of the world history provides the youngster with the overview of the inter-relation of nations and how international historical events, such as colonisation, shaped contemporary society. In conclusion, it is equally important for school boys and school girls to study local history as well as world history.