Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, learning a new language has seemed to gain huge popularity. As a result, it is of the opinion by some experts that it should be learned when a child is in primary school rather than being in high school. However, this trend has a mixture of both advantages and disadvantages where learning a vernacular at an early age outshines learning at the later stage of life. On the constructive side, a child is blessed if he is taught to be bilingual at a nascent stage and has substantial benefits which are worth mentioning. To begin with, since their cognitive ability is under development, it would be easier for them to grasp the complexity and understanding of that jargon. Therefore, they will have a stronghold on their additional language. Another astounding benefit of this is, it enhances their overall intelligence and personality to a great extent which would aid in their upcoming studies and help them to become a better version of themselves. This will lead to better career opportunities in later life. To illustrate, it has been observed that people who are bilingual, tend to be more mature and intelligent than those who are monolingual. On the destructive side, there are potential shortcomings of learning a foreign dialect at secondary school. Chiefly, students at this stage are burdened with academic subjects such as mathematics and science. Consequently, it makes it difficult to extract extra time for the other subject. Moreover, it would decimate other subjects' focus which could have detrimental effects on their performances. Additionally, learning will make them forget their mother tongue as well,which however can lead to a loss in their local culture. An example of this is when schoolers are taught about English, they emphasize more on it to get better universities and often forget their own local dialect. To conclude, the merits of teaching a new language in primary schools outshine its demerits because it would be easier for them to absorb the complexity of a new language and thereby improve their intelligence