Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, there are numerous care homes or nursing homes available for old age people owing to lack of care and support by their family members. In this essay, I will discuss both positive and negative aspects associated with this trend with relevent examples. To begin with, the first and most important pros of sending old age persons to old folk homes are providing better health facilities. As, there are professionally trained staff to look after the senior persons. In addition, these homes also provide ample of services to senior citizens such as lift or elevate so that they can live comfortably. On the top of this, there are numbers of old persons in the same age which helps to make friendly environment. As a result, it also helps to reduce stress and anxiety in old age persons. On the other hand, the upsides of this trajectory, the drawback cannot be undermined. The main con of this trend is lack of emotional attachment by individuals. Elderly people do not heartly touch with each other because they love and strong bonding only with their sons and daughters. Moreover, they also depressed because they do not look their grand childrens and all their family. So, it will affect their physical and mental health. For instance, studies shows that 90% of elders are more happy when they live their own home with family. In conclusion, it can be deducted that despite the benefits of elderly staying in take care homes it can also lead to depression which could result to mental illness.